Do you cry?

Some people self-identify as “criers” – the ones who tear up over Hallmark commercials.  Others only cry a few times in their adult lives.  Are you a crier?

In Rob Bell’s Nooma video “Rain,” he talks about his son’s experience during a literal storm – since all he could see was the storm, he cried out in fear from the depths of his soul.  Bell provides the following Bible verses from the Psalms about crying:

Is anyone crying for help? God is listening, ready to rescue you.

Psalm 34:17 (MSG)
 
Evening, morning, and noon, I cry out in distress, and he hears my voice.
Psalm 55:17 (NIV)
 
For He will rescue the poor who cry out and the afflicted who have no helper.
Psalm 72:12 (HCSB)
 
I long and yearn for the courts of the LORD; my heart and flesh cry out for the living God.
Psalm 84:2 (HCSB)
 
O LORD, the God who saves me, day and night I cry out before you.
Psalm 88:1 (NIV)

 

Sometimes we think that our tears mean that we are weak, or immature, or effeminate. 

Here, though, we see that there is a Biblical precedent for “crying out” to God. 

Perhaps this is related to the “lament” tradition of Israel.

What is your understanding of “lament?” 

How would you recommend we incorporate lament into our personal  –

and especially our communal – lives?

About diaconaljen

Diaconal minister, military wife, homeschooling mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you cry?

  1. Rick says:

    Yes. I cry. I weep. When I hurt I cry. I’ve cried “happy tears.” I’ve cried over the actions and the effects on others. Frankly, we need to cry, it’s why God gave us tear ducts. 🙂

    On a much deeper level, I can or have carried unresolved grief. I haven’t mourned my losses. Not just losses of people, places, and things, but losses of my self and my innocence. For me, “crying” has been a healing gift. Collectively we need to cry. It’s one thing to pay lip service to mourning or tears, but if we could as a people allow ourselves to mourn our losses at a deep level, it may heal our world; certainly it would be more compassionate and less violent for we’d stop projecting our unresolved grief and pain onto others.

  2. For most of my life I couldn’t cry. Oh, I felt the love, hurt, loss but the knot formed in my throat and nothing more. After much inner work, heart to heart with a priest, spiritual growth, and emotional healing, that changed. There are times I wish it had not, but in actuality, it is so healing. We were meant for crying, lamenting, the rest of it. Happy tears, sad and hurt ones – all mean the same. We’re going deep. We need to. It’s vital for us in our private place yes, but also as a body. We were, after all meant interdependent as the body of Christ. Oddly, I never felt it was a weakness in others, but did feel it was in me – at the time I was unable. I think to hold back in some ways was a brick wall I used . . .. “it doesn’t matter.” Or “you can’t hurt me.”

    Now, I see crying, in many cases. as a sign of strength. I find myself admiring one who is unafraid to open his heart.

Leave a Reply

